Uncategorized

Spring 2024

April 3, 2024. Three days of steady rain. April showers bring May flowers. Chilly but Spring is on my mind. Easter Sunday we had a brunch with the Kwaits at the Golden Pheasant in Tinicum. Sunny ride up river. A delightful afternoon. We pass forsythia and clusters of daffodils. All spots of yellow. Eli just back from a baseball week in Florida. The main room at the Golden Pheasant is so bright and open. Nice being out with people. Nice seeing the Kwaits.


I started with their Golden Pheasant Manhattan — Dad’s Hat Rye, grenadine, bitters. Grenadine I learned is a nonalcoholic syrup made with pomegranates. Ordered a dozen oysters and Eli got an octopus app. It was small but tasty. My entree was Moules Frites (mussels). Very tasty large bowl with baguettes. Diane had a duck hash. Bottle of Savaginon Blanc for the table. Steak, chicken, salmon, bass for others. I had an Expresso Martini; ice cream for Eli. A memorable Easter brunch.

One of my most memorable Easter’s was 1968 or 1969. We drove our gray 1955 Sunbeam convertible to Cape Cod National Seashore. Probably Cahoon’s Hallow since that’s the beach where Smith’s went. We slid down the dunes and enjoyed a beautiful afternoon. Returning to the car; I’d lost the keys. There must have been a pay phone. I called the local fire company and a guy came. No problem. The car was easy to jump start; in fact there was a crank on the front. He crossed some wires; turned the crank; we were on our way.

This past Saturday I harvested bok choy, arugula and mustard greens. There is more arugula, bok choy, spinach and kale. All planted in October. Amazing Spring crop. I planted seed, spinach, radish, lettuces. kale and peas. All getting watered with the rains. Last night I thought about starting a bit of a flower garden. Maybe in the back adjacent to Diane’s flower/herb garden.

Spring, a time to renew, organize, clean. I have plenty to do. We speak cautiously about moving. What an undertaking. We (I) have so much stuff. Books, records, stamps, coins, clocks, tools, postcards. Then our furnishings, wall hangings, and crafts. I thought about an elevator. Maybe we don’t need to move. It’s also a time to enjoy the flowers, warmer weather, longer days.

Some Spring trip would be nice. Washington DC is a possibility. Last year we went Cape May with Jenny in early March. Later in the month we went to Williamstown, MA with Taylors. Even day trips would be nice, need to look at museum possibilities, any theatre, movies at the County. Getting that spring feeling.

Standard

Leave a comment